Menu

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee works with the UACDL Executive Director to comment on and propose legislation that adversely affects the underprivileged, discriminates against groups, or implicate constitutionally protected rights.  No professional or personal interests may influence committee members' efforts or decision making. Nor may committee members instruct, or encourage the membership to endorse specific candidates or to contribute to political campaigns.  Committee members must meet throughout the year to monitor proposed legislation and to plan for the annual legislative session.   Also, the committee coordinates with other sympathetic groups as well as the UACDL members who serve on rule-making committees to monitor changes in the law and court procedures.  During the annual seven-week legislative session, the committee meets weekly to monitor legislation and to arrange for the Executive Director or committee members to attend legislative committee meetings and to speak on behalf of the UACDL.  The committee also educates on criminal-law related changes in the law at CLE events and in the spring issue of "The Defender" newsletter.

Steve Burton, Chair

sburton@intermountainlegal.net

Adam Alba

aalba@sllda.com

Bernie Allen

bernie@arplegal.com

Patrick Anderson

Sentencing Commission Member
panderson@sllda.com

Brian Arnold

arnold@arnoldwadsworth.com

Kelly Ann Booth

kellyann@boothlegal.com

Robert Breeze

robert.breeze@gmail.com

Kris Cantil

kris_pi@yahoo.com

David Christensen

david_christensen@fd.org

Aric Cramer

ariccramer@gmail.com

Abby Dizon-Maughan

abby.dizon.maughan@gmail.com

Sean Druyon

sean@utahfreedomfighters.com

Kelly Fowler

fowlerlegal@live.com

Brian Frees

brian@freeslaw.com

Peter Goodall

goodalldefense@gmail.com

Jon Grimes

jon@grimeslegalsolutions.com

Danielle Hawkes

Danielle@hawkesjustice.com

Sean Hullinger

sh@fghlawyers.com

David Johnson

djohnson@ujda.org

Robert Latham

rob@roblatham.pro

Marina Lowe

mlowe@acluutah.org

Benji McMurray

Sentencing Commission Member
benji_mcmurray@fd.org

Mark Moffat

Sentencing Commission and Commission on
Criminal and Juvenile Justice Member

mark@brownbradshaw.com

Jason Richards

jrichardslaw@gmail.com

Jason Schatz    

Jason@schatzanderson.com

Cara Tangaro

cara@tangarolaw.com

Pam Vickrey

pvickrey@ujda.org

Brenda Viera

bviera@sllda.com

Tyler Williams

mtylerw@gmail.com

Phil Wormdahl            

philwormdahl@gmail.com